Winners Announced – Wales Rally GB Competition for Schools 2014

Winners Announced – Wales Rally GB Competition for Schools 2014

Wales Rally GB logo

For the second year running EESW has organised the Wales Rally GB Competition for Schools on behalf of the Welsh Government.  Over 160 entries were received from schools throughout Wales.  Entrants were able to choose from two design briefs – Brief A was to design images for printing onto Rally merchandise by Performance Clothing, Brief B was to design the livery for a Welsh rally car entering the Wales Rally GB.  Eleven finalists were invited to attend the Wales Rally GB Industry Awareness Event for Schools on 13th November, organised to coincide with the UK’s season-ending round of the FIA World Rally Championship in North Wales 13-16 November.

Edwina Hart with Winners Reduced

The finalists had an enjoyable day at the event and the overall winners were announced, with prizes awarded by Edwina Hart AM (The Minister for Economy, Science and Transport), Bob Cater (CEO of EESW) and Julie Jones (Performance Clothing).  Elvyn Evans also kindly presented the winners of Brief B with a signed photograph of their winning roof vent design on his M-Sport World Rally Team Ford Fiesta RS WRC.

Congratulations to the Winners:

Brief A winner:

Kira Roberts                                                                  Bishop Vaughan School

Brief B winner:

Philip Cuckson-Williams and Ross Slater                 Denbigh High School


Congratulations also to the finalists:

Brief A:

Dyfed Jenkins-Davies     Ysgol Gyfun Bro Edern

Sophia Adams                  Ysgol Uwchradd Glan Clwyd

Carwyn Davies                 Ysgol Y Moelwyn

Brief B:

James Hughes                  Pontypridd High School

Jordan Hart                      Risca Community Comprehensive School

Lydia Harrison                 St David’s High School

Chloe Langford                 St Christopher’s School (Judges discretionary award)

Lewis Evans                       St Christopher’s School (Judges discretionary award)


WRGB Kira Roberts    WRGB Phillip and Ross

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *