Student of the Year 2013 Finalists Announced!

EESW are running their second annual Student of the Year Award to celebrate the success of projects in 2012-13. All Year 13 students from across Wales who took part in the EESW Sixth Form project last year were invited to submit an application form, detailing their previous experience with STEM subjects and how they might contribute to the future of the Welsh Economy.  The winning prize is £1,000 towards university fees in a Science, Technology, Engineering or Mathematics (STEM) related subject of their choice.  The runners up will receive a laptop to help with future studies.

This year five students were selected and interviewed by Robert Cater, CEO of EESW, Rebecca Davies of STEMCymru and Kevin Doran, Engineering Manager of Ortho Clinical Diagnostics.

The three finalists are:

  • Jonathan Burton from Whitchurch High School, who worked with Dwr Cymru/Welsh Water on a water boosting pumping station feasibility study.
  • Jonathan Pont from Cyfarthfa High School, who worked with Merthyr Highways Agency to design a sustainable street.
  • Edward Brandsden from Ysgol Bro Pedr, who worked with Dragon Machinery on a project to monitor the step position on an industrial shredding machine.

The final round of the competition will be held at the Welsh Automotive Forum dinner on 5th December 2013, where the winner and two runners-up will be announced by Edwina Hart, the Welsh Minister for Economy, Science and Transport.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *