To celebrate the EESW projects each year, we run a competition to select an EESW Student of the Year.

SOTYdinner18 EESW Student of the Year 2017 winner

EESW Student of the Year 2017 winner

The award is in memory of the late Dr Tom Parry Jones (1935-2013) who was a trustee of the Engineering Education Scheme Wales for 20 years.  Tom was a great entrepreneur and innovator, who established Lion Laboratories in Cardiff in 1967 and played a major role in developing the roadside hand-held electronic breathalyser, which is used by police forces across the world.  It has transformed road safety and saved countless lives.  The Tom Parry Jones Student of the Year Award is supported by his widow, Mrs Raj W Jones.

Students will need to write a proposal explaining why they think they deserve to be EESW Student of the Year 2018. The winner will receive up to £800 towards the cost of studying a Science, Technology, Engineering or Maths (STEM) based subject next year.  The prize for two runners-up will be £400 & £400 respectively to help with future study.  

To enter, students must:

  • Have taken part in an EESW sixth form project in 2017-18 and attended the Awards & Presentation Day
  • Be studying at least two STEM subjects at A level
  • Have achieved a Gold CREST Award
  • Be intending to study a STEM based subject to degree or HNC/HND Levels


The written proposal should include:

  • Grades gained at GCSE/AS level and chosen subjects at A level
  • Any other qualifications or STEM relevant achievements (E.g. Gold CREST Award)
  • Details of future intended study and career goals
  • Around 1,500 words outlining any Science, Technology, Engineering or Maths (STEM) activities engaged with
  • 500 words explaining why the student thinks engineering is important to the Welsh Economy
  • A supporting statement for your application from the teacher OR link engineer


Applications for this year's competition is now closed.  We will be announcing the winner and runners-up on our website after the 29th November 2018.  

Find out more about the winner and runners-up of the EESW Student of the Year 2017 here.